Latecomers on SBS winner of SDIN Award
Latecomers (image - SBS)

Latecomers on SBS winner of SDIN Award

Latecomers on SBS winner of SDIN Award – The Screen Diversity and Inclusion Network (SDIN) and the Screen Producers Australia (SPA) have announced Latecomers, produced by SPA members Lazy Susan Films and Mad Ones Films,as the winner of the annual SDIN Award, at the 21st Annual SPA Awards. 

Latecomers was created byAngus Thompson and Emma Myers, who have drawn on their own experiences of living with cerebral palsy to tell this story of two strangers with cerebral palsy who, after watching their care workers hook up at a bar, become determined to explore their own relationships with sex and each other. The series stars Angus Thompson and Hannah Diviney, and Alistair Baldwin, who identifies as living with a disability, directed one of the episodes.

Announcedas part of SCREEN FOREVER 37, the SDIN Award presentation also marks the end of the two-year term of leadership for SDIN Co-Chairs Michelle Cheng (SBS Content Industry Diversity Manager) and Kelrick Martin (ABC Head of Indigenous). In speaking about the Award, they said:

Latecomers is unlike any program Australia has ever seen – hilarious, relatable and game changing – it shows the power and authenticity coming from creators with lived experience, telling stories about their own community. As Sarah and Frank navigate their relationships with sex and each other as people with cerebral palsy, this groundbreaking series is shifting perceptions and attitudes towards people with disability in Australia.” 

The annual SDIN Award recognises an Australian-based project, producer and/or production company and/or screen organisation that has made a significant contribution, through excellence or impact to diversity and inclusion either on or offscreen, within the Australian screen industry.

In 2022, the shortlist also recognised First Day, series two, produced by SPA members Epic Films and KOJO Studios and The Australian Wars produced by Blackfella Films. 

SDIN today announced the incoming SDIN Co-Chairs who will lead the network for the next two years. 

They are the Head of Film and Screen Studies at Monash University, Olivia Khoo, and SBSScripted Commissioning Editor, Loani Arman. 

Latecomers on SBS winner of SDIN Award
Loani Arman

In speaking of their appointment 

Latecomers on SBS winner of SDIN Award
Olivia Khoo

Olivia Khoo  said:

“I am excited to be contributing to this next phase of the Network’s future. With the second iteration of the Everyone Countsreport to start working on, Australia’s screen industries are well placed to make significant strides in improving diversity and inclusion and I’m looking forward to working with our screen organisations, research and educational institutions, and my co-Chair Loani Arman to make this happen.” 

Loani Arman said: “I’m thrilled to be working closely with Olivia and the SDIN membership to continue the work we need to do across the industry, building on The Everyone Project and seeking out and developing talent from historically excluded backgrounds through long-term measurable programs and funding. I’d like to acknowledge the tireless efforts of outgoing co-chairs Kelrick Martin and Michelle Cheng and thank them for all the work

Media Release – Screen Diversity Inclusion Network


TV Central Screen Producers Australia content HERE

TV Central podcast with Latecomers star Patrick Jhanur HERE

Press ESC to close

Quick Links:    All News   –   Podcast   –   Streaming