Brian Rosen and Su Armstrong (image - SPA)

SPA Awards announces Lifetime Achievement Award recipients

SPA Awards announces Lifetime Achievement Award recipients – Today Screen Producers Australia (SPA) are pleased to announce Producers Brian Rosen and Su Armstrong as the deserving recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award and will be honoured at the 21st Annual SPA Awards. The prestigious Awards ceremony will take place at The Star Gold Coast on Friday, 05 May 2023, as part of SCREEN FOREVER 37.

For almost four decades, Su has been one of the global screen industry’s most prolific producers, with a career that began by working on Peter Weir’s The Last Wave followed by a raft of Australian films and culminating with Head of Production at Kennedy Miller Mitchell before heading off to the United States. She then solidified her credentials in Hollywood, working under Waly Disney’s Hollywood Pictures, where she oversaw as VP of Production of more than fifty films, including Crimson Tide, Dangerous Minds, The Santa Clause, Unstrung Heroes, and The Rock.

Su was also an executive producer on the film Good Will Hunting, which won more than a dozen awards, including Academy Awards for Best Supporting Actor and Best Screenplay, a Golden Globe Award for Best Screenplay, and the PGA’s Golden Laurel Award for Motion Picture Producer of the Year.

Su now resides back in Australia and continues to build a reputation for excellence at SIXTYFOURSIXTY with producer partner Brian.

Brian has been working in the film and television sector for over forty years, producing feature films – both live-action and animation – and television dramas.

Brian has equally as impressive and diverse credentials as Su, having a career that has seen him work across Australia, the USA and Europe both as an independent producer and as an executive. He was previously CEO of the Film Finance Corporation of Australia from 2003 until 2008, where he was instrumental in bringing about the 2007 government film incentives of Producer Offset and merging of the federal film and TV agencies into Screen Australia.

Brian began producing films in the US in 1991 with the animated film FernGully – The Last Rainforest, distributed worldwide by 20th Century Fox. In 1994 he worked at Walt Disney Pictures as executive producer on Roald Dahl’s James and the Giant Peach, produced by Tim Burton, and from 1996 until 1999, he had a developing and producing deal with 20th Century Fox Family Entertainment.

Brian’s accolades cemented his reputation as a screen industry powerhouse with a wealth of invaluable knowledge, which unsurprisingly saw him secure many prestigious screen sector positions, including the chair of the Board of Screen Tasmania and the President of the SPA Council from 2011 to 2014.

Both Brian and Su’s careers, their relentless passion for storytelling, their work and mentorship of others, and their contributions to the Australian and global screen industry will be celebrated with much vigour at the SPA Awards next week.

The upcoming SPA Awards are the 21st incarnation of the prestigious Awards ceremony, which continues to celebrate excellence in the screen production industry. Entry to the ceremony is included in a SCREEN FOREVER 37 Gold Coast Pass.

Gold Coast passes to SCREEN FOREVER 37 have officially sold out. There are a limited number of passes available for Day three, Friday, May 5, along with tickets to the prestigious SPA Awards.

Those keen to take advantage of remaining spots can add their name to a waitlist via the SCREEN FOREVER registration page, and if any more tickets become available, an alert will be issued.

Link to SCREEN FOREVER 37 registration HERE.

SPA Awards ticket member price $200, purchase HERE. SPA Awards ticket non-member price $250, purchase HERE

Media Release – SPA

More TV Central SPA content HERE

SPA Awards announces Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

Press ESC to close

Quick Links:    All News   –   Podcast   –   Streaming